About ACoSt

Announcements

Membership
To become a member

Publications

Bibliography


ACoSt Membership

Databases

Links

Coroplastic Web Sites

Forum

Archives

Contact

 

ACoSt Research

 

Membership in the Association for Coroplastic Studies (ACoSt) is open to anyone with an interest in the study of terracotta figurines and other sculptural objects in clay. Although formed by classical archaeologists working at ancient sites around the Mediterranean and Black Sea areas, the ACoSt welcomes those scholars conducting research on terracotta figurines from other areas of the world, such as Central and South America, Africa, south-east Asia, and the Pacific rim. We also extend membership to colleagues in anthropology, history, and religious studies, among other disciplines.

To become a member please contact:
Professor Jaimee Uhlenbrock (uhlenbrj@newpaltz.edu)
and provide a brief sentence on your areas of interest


A

Souad Ait Salah Université de Lille-SHS souad.aitsalah@gmail.com Terracottas of north Greece

Marina Albertocchi

Ca' Foscari University, Venice

m.albertocchi@alice.it

Terracottas of Sicily

Andreou Alexandros

University of Athens

satyriskos@gmail.com

Hellenistic and Roman terracotta figurines from the deposits around the Sanctuary of the Nymph at the South Slope of the Acropolis (Greece)

Constantina Alexandrou 

Trinity College Dublin

alexandc@tcd.ie

Late Bronze Age terracotta figurines from Cyprus

Silvia Alfaye University of Zaragoza silvia.alfaye@gmail.com Iberian terracottas

Rebecca Ammerman (ACoSt Executive Committee)

Colgate University

rammerman@colgate.edu

Terracottas from south Italy

Erica Morais Angliker

University of London

em2316@columbia.edu

Terracottas from the Cyclades (Greece)

Fabio Astone

Antiquarium Com-munale di Agropoli, Salerno

giubbeblu@alice.it

Terracottas from Poseidonia (south Italy)

Hélène Aurigny   Aix-Marseille Université aurigny@mmsh.univ-aix.fr           Terracottas (technique, iconography and style) especially of Argos
Erin Walcek Averett Creighton University, Omaha erinaverett@creighton.edu Greek Geometric terracottas, Cypriote terracottas

 

B

Andrea Babbi Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg babbi@rgzm.de Italian, Aegean and Cypriot terracotta and bronze figurines from the Late Bronze Age to the Orientalizing Period
Caitlin Barrett Cornell University ceb329@cornell.edu Egyptianizing terracottas

Angela Bellia

Università di Urbino angelabellia1@virgilio.it Figurative terracottas and musical iconography
Riccardo Berriola National Archaeological Museum, Naples riccardo.berriola@beniculturali.it Hellenistic and Roman terracottas from south Italy
Geltrude Bizzaro Università degli studi di Napoli “L’Orientale” geltrudebizzarro@gmail.com Terracottas of south Italy
Barbara Bolognani University of Bologna barbarabolognani@gmail.com Iron Age clay figurines coming from Karkemish and in general from the Syro-Anatolian region
Heather Bowyer Arizona State University hbowyer@asu.edu Terracotta and bronze grotesque figurines from the Hellenistic periodErica Morais Angliker
Josef Mario Briffa University College London josef.briffa.12@ucl.ac.uk

Late Iron Age (8th-6th century) figurines in the Southern LevantSigne Barfoed

Stéphanie Budin University of Oregon slbudin@gmail.com  Coroplastic interconnections in the Ancient Mediterranean and Near East
Jennifer Butterworth University of Memphis jennybutterworth@yahoo.com Terracottas and gender in the Old World and New World

 

C

Romina Carboni Univeristà degli Studi di Cagliari carboni.romina@libero.it Classical terracottas from Greece, Asia Minor, and Sardinia
Annie Caubet Conservateur général honoraire du Patrimoine annie.caubet@free.fr Terracottas from Cyprus, Syria, and Lebanon, Bronze to Iron Age
Claudia Cenci Soprintendenza Archeologica del Veneto claudia.cenci@beniculturali.it Terracottas from the Gorga collection
Maria Chidiroglou Department of Archaeological Sites, Hellenic Ministry of Culture mariachidiroglou@gmail.com Terracottas from Euboea (Greece)
Natalie Cholodenko Université François-Rabelais, Tours n.cholodenko@gmail.com Archaic arulae of Sicily and south Italy
Louise Contant Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne louise.contant@gmail.com Late Iron Age to Roman period terracottas in the Levant and Arabia
Nicola Cucuzza University of Genoa Nicola.cucuzza@lettere.unige.it Minoan and Mycenaean figurines

 

D

Erin Darby
(ACoSt Treasurer)
University of Tennessee edarby1@utk.edu Tterracottas from Israel
Martine Dewailly École Française de Rome martine.dewailly@efrome.it Tterracottas from South Italy (Basilicata, Puglia) and from Ionia (Claros, Ephesos)
Maria Dikomitou-Eliadou University of Cyprus m.dikom@ucy.ac.cy Interdisciplinary study of ceramic artifacts; ceramic petrography
Daphni Doepner Universität Bonn daphni.doepner@uni-bonn.de Terracottas of South Italy and Troy  

 

E-F

Adi Erlich
(ACoSt Executive Committee)

University of Haifa aerlich@research.haifa.ac.il Terracottas from Israel and the Levant
       
Michael Anthony Fowler Columbia University maf2209@columbia.edu Greek terracottas
David Frankfurter Boston University dtmf@bu.edu Terracotta figurines in Roman and Christian Egypt
G-H

Frances Gallart-Marques Cornell University fg29@cornell.edu Terracottas of Sardis
Vassiliki Georgaka Greek Ministry of Culture-First Ephorate of Prehistoric and Classical Studies georgakav@ath.forthnet.gr Archaic Attic terracottas
Frauke Gutschke Germany fraukegutschke@web.de Jointed dolls
       
Isabelle Hasselin Rous Musée du Louvre isabelle.hasselin@louvre.fr

Terracottas of Smyrna

Keely Heuer

State University of New York, New Paltz heuerk@newpaltz.edu Greek terracottas and vase painting
Sanne Hoffmann Copenhagen University bukrania@gmail.com Greek terracotta figurines, mostly votives
Regine Hunziker-Rodewald University of Strasbourg regine.hunziker@orange.fr Iron Age figurines from Jordan
Stéphanie Huysecom-Haxhi
(ACoSt Vice-President)
Université SHS-Lille 3 stephanie.huysecom-haxhi@univ-lille3.fr Terracottas from Thasos (Greece), from Dürres (Albania)


I-J-K

Maria Adele Ibba Università degli Studi di Cagliari mariaadeleibba@libero.it Terracottas from Cagliari (Sardinia), terracottas from Iasos (Turkey) 
Stylianos Ieremias Oxford University stelios_ieremias@hotmail.com Classical Greek Terracottas
       
Heather Jackson The University of Melbourne, Victoria hmjackson@bigpond.com Terracottas from Jebel Khalid (Syria); terracottas from Torone (Greece)
Violaine Jeammet Musée du Louvre Violaine.Jeammet@louvre.fr Greek terracottas
       
Sven Kielau
(ACoSt Executive Committee)
Independent researcher sven_kielau@yahoo.de Hellenistic terracottas of Asia Minor
Raz Kletter Israel kletterr@gmail.com Bronze and Iron Age terracottas of the Near East
Sonia Klinger University of Haifa klinger@research.haifa.ac.il Terracottas of Corinth (Greece), Roman terracottas of Israel
Nadia B. Knudsen  United Kingdom ganchat3@hotmail.com Early Bronze Age zoomorphic figurines from the Levant
Theo Kopestonsky University of Tennessee tkopesto@hotmail.com Corinthian terracottas

 

L

Mechthild Ladurner University of Vienna Mechthild.Ladurner@dainst.de The terracottas of southern Italy and Sicily
Stephanie Langin-Hooper Southern Methodist University langinhooper@mail.smu.edu Terracottas from Mesopotamia
Mireia López-Bertran University of Glasgow mireia_lopez@hotmail.com Phoenician and Punic figurines in the western Mediterranean
Elise Luneau German Archaeological Institute elise.luneau@dainst.de Terracottas from central Asia

 

M-N

Martin Maischberger Antikensammlung Berlin m.maischberger@smb.spk-berlin.de Greek and Roman terracottas
Annamaria Manenti Italy manspad@libero.it Terracottas of Sicily
Christina Marangou Greece chrmarangou@yahoo.gr  Terracottas from Greece
Natacha Massar Royal Museums of Art and History, Brussels n.massar@kmkg-mrah.be Terracottas from Greece and south Italy
Roberta Menegazzi Centro Ricerche e Scavi di Torino per il Medio Oriente e l'Asia robertamenegazzi@yahoo.it Terracottas from Seleucia on the Tigris (Iraq)
Alexandre G. Mitchell Institute of Archaeology, Oxford info@expressum.eu Greco-Roman terracotta figurines, particularly caricature and pathological grotesques
Christine Morris Trinity College Dublin cmorris@tcd.ie Aegean Bronze Age terracotta figurines, especially from Minoan peak sanctuaries
Belisa Muka Institute of Archaeology, Butrint, Albania b_muka@yahoo.com Terracottas from Illyria and Epirus (Albania)
Arthur Muller Université Charles-de-Gaulle-Lille 3 arthur.muller@univ-lille3.fr Greek and Albania terracottas
Marion Muller-Dufeu Université Charles-de-Gaulle-Lille 3 mmullerdufeu@sfr.fr Greek and Albania terracottas
Maya Muratov Adelphi University mbm224@nyu.edu Terracottas from the Bosporan Kingdom (Black Sea)
Celine Murphy University of Kent cm293@kent.ac.uk The materiality of Minoan peak sanctuary anthropomorphic figurines (made of clay) (Crete)
Ioannis Mylonopoulos Columbia University jm3193@columbia.edu Greek Terracottas
       
Astrid Nunn Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg astrid.nunn@hotmail.de Phoenician, Syrian, and Trans-Jordanian terracottas


O-P-Q

Ambra Pace  University of Messina, Sicily ambra.pace@tin.it Archaic protomai from the deposit of Piazza S. Francesco at Catania (Sicily)
Giorgos Papantoniou Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
papantog@tcd.ie Archaic to Roman terracottas from Cyprus
Antonella Pautasso (ACoSt Executive Committee) Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Istituto per i Beni Archeologici e Monumentali, Catania Pautasso@unict.it Terracottas of Sicily
Oliver Pilz Johannes Gutenberg-Universität, Mainz opilz@uni-mainz.de Geometric and Archaic terracottas from Crete
Luana Poma Italy luanapo2@hotmail.com Phoenician-punic terracottas; archaic and classical greek terracottas
lexandra Prokova University of Cologne alprokova@gmail.com Greek terracottas
 
Q-R

Serena Raffiotta Italy serenaraffiotta@gmail.com Terracottas of Sicily
Angele Rosenberg University of Chicago angelero@uchicago.edu Terracottas of Greece
Elisa Rosberger Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München elisa_r@web.de Bronze Age terracottas of Syria
Maja Rzeplińska University of Warsaw maja.rzeplinska@gmail.com Terracottas from Hellenistic, Parhian and Sasanian Mesopotamia, Iran and Central Asia

 

S

Katri Saarelainen

University of Helsinki, Finland

katri.saarelainen@gmail.com

Iron Age terracottas from Israel and Jordan

Ferhan Sakal Qatar Museums Authority ferhan.sakal@uni-tuebingen.de Syrian terracottas
Gina Salapata
(ACoSt Secretary)
Massey University, Palmerston North, New Zealand g.salapata@massey.ac.nz Terracotta plaques from Laconia (Greece)
Arnaud Saura-Ziegelmeyer Université Toulouse Jean Jaurès a.sauraziegelmeyer@gmail.com Egyptian terracottas
Nancy Serwint Arizone State University, Tempe nancy.serwint@asu.edu Terracottas of Marion (Cyprus)
Alexandra Sofroniew University of California, Davis asofroniew@ucdavis.edu Greek and Italic terracottas, anatomical terracottas, terracottas in museum collections

Katja Sporn

German Archaeological Institute, Athens Katja.Sporn@dainst.de  

Greek Archaeology, Archaeo-logy of Cult, Funerary culture, Topographic, Studies, Iconography

 

T

Dominique Kassab Tezgör Bilkent University, Ankara tezgor@bilkent.edu.tr Greek Hellenistic and Roman figurines, typology and technique
Zetta Theodoropoulou-Polychroniadis Chair, Greek Archaeological Committee UK zetta.theodoropoulou@gmail.com Coroplastic research interests:archaic and classical figurines, plaques, pottery, with a specific interest in coastal sanctuaries
Loeta Tyree American School of Classical Studies loetatyree@gmail.com Cretan Bronze Age figurines and religion with a specific interest in Minoan sacred caves


U-V

Jaimee Uhlenbrock
(ACoSt President)
State Unversity of New York, New Paltz uhlenbrj@newpaltz.edu Greek terracottas of Libya and Sicily
Anja Ulbrich

Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology
University of Oxford

anya_ulbrich@gmx.de All aspects of Greek, Cypriot and Near Eastern terracottas
       
Gerrie van Rooijen Leiden University mojassameh@yahoo.com Terracotta votives and the formation of religious beliefs in Sicily from the 7th to the 5th cent. B.C.  
Simone Voegtle University of Bern (Switzerland) simone.voegtle@iaw.unibe.ch Iconography in figurative terracottas

 

W-X-Y-Z

Elizabeth Weistra

University of Groningen (the Netherlands) ellyweistra@gmail.com Terracottas from (Francavilla Marittima in) South Italy
       
Nadezhda Zhizhina Hermitage Museum jijina@mail.ru Greek plaster reliefs

 



ACoSt Research
ACoSt Membership